Macys and Macys Coupons

Published: 03rd July 2007
Views: N/A

Macy's is a group of American department stores. It's headquarter is in the city of New York, USA. Macy's Department Store is famous for clothing, footwear, bedding, furniture, jewelry, cosmetics, and house-wares. It has three flagship stores in Herald Square of New York city, San Francisco's Union Square and State Street in the Chicago Loop. Macy's Department Store has got its divisional flagship stores in Atlanta, Miami, St. Luis and Seattle. Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade a parade held on the streets of New York City every year since 1924 is a well known sponsorship by Macy's Department Store. This huge departmental store was introduced by Rowland Hussey Macy in 1858.

In 1920s and 1930s, Macy's Department Store expanded its branches around New York and Long Island as it became public in 1922. It took over the stores LaSalle & Koch in Toledo in 1924, Davison-Paxon-Stokes in Atlanta in 1929, Newark (L. Bamberger & Co.) in New Jersey in 1929, O'Connor Moffat & Company in San Francisco in 1945, and John Taylor Dry Goods Co. in Kansas City in 1947. The take over chain was broken when Chairman and CEO of R.H. Macy & Co., Inc. Edward Finkelstein lost the Federated Department Store Inc. to Canada's Campeau Corp. in 1986. But according to the settlement with Campeau, Macy's Department Store purchased Federated's California-based, fashion-oriented Bullock's and its high-end Bullocks Wilshire and I. Magnin divisions. Struggled for long time finally Macy's Department Store merged with Federated Department Store in 1994. It also acquired the bankrupt Woodward & Lothrop/John Wanamaker in 1995. In 2005, Macy's Department Store witnessed another big merger with May Department Stores for $11 billion in stock. To make its products national brand products, Macy's Department Store appointed Anne MacDonald as new chief marketing officer.

Branches of Macy's Department Store

In east it has 216 branch stores in Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, D.C. and Puerto Rico and its headquarter is in New York. In north Macy's Department Store opened 65 stores in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. There are 232 stores in West and 166 in South.

Get huge discounts at Macys with Macys Coupons

Report this article Ask About This Article

More to Explore